THE ORIGINAL OLD PARISH CHURCH.
(by Jill Harper)
It was in spring 1571, when the first sod was cut in preparation for the laying of he foundation stone, on solid rock, of the very first Old Parish Church of Fraserburgh.
Then, nothing but green fields, moss, rock and brushwood lay between the church and the castle at Kinnaird Head.
The 1571 church was enlarged, repaired and improved in the years 1628 and 1688, and the present church dates from 1803.
The Old Kirk of Fraserburgh is very rich in its historical interest and around it gathers the traditions of centuries -
things spiritual, ecclesiastical, civil and educational.
(This is the description from the booklet of just one of the panels in the Fraserburgh 400 tapestry.)
Back to 400 page.